New hours at Hawarden Public Library

Posted August 25, 2016 at 3:28 pm

The Hawarden Public Library announces revised hours beginning on Monday, August 29. The library will be open from 10 a.m. through 6 p.m. on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. On Thursday, the library will be open from 10 a.m. – 7 p.m. Friday’s hours are 10 a.m. – 5 p.m., and Saturday will remain the same–10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Hours are revised to reflect traffic flow at the library and to be cost effective in the operation of the library.

The library’s catalog, ebooks, and databases via the library’s web site are available 24/7 to Hawarden and Ireton residents as well as rural Sioux County residents. Those databases include encyclopedias, full text magazine databases, a car repair database, Explora, Zinio, and Freegal. The last two mentioned are current magazines

Read Full Story…


    Ireton Habitat for Humanity house relocated

    By Steve Peterson

    Sioux County Habitat for Humanity officials coordinated a successful move of a home from Boyden to a lot in Ireton Aug. 15 and 16.

    “Berghorst And Sons Moving Company set the house down and we worked to frame the walls and the stairs Aug. 15. On Tuesday Berghorst came back and pulled their beams out (from under the house),” said Sioux County Habitat for Humanity Director Kurt Franje. “We will be

    Read Full Story…

    WS approves changing content-blocking software

    By Steve Peterson

    West Sioux School Board members, at the Aug. 8 meeting, voted unanimously to approve content blocking package for the school district’s computers from Securely Inc., for $10,080.

    Information Technology Director Bob Bak gave a report on the topic, adding the original content blocker broke down and its replacements were causing the computer system slowed data.

    “The firewall then can go back to being the firewall and not a content blocker.

    Read Full Story…

    Meal prices adjusted by school board

    By Steve Peterson

    At the Aug. 8 meeting West Sioux School Board members voted to set new breakfast and lunch prices.

    “The State of Iowa Department of Education told me you have to have an average price of $2.30. Breakfast price and the adult price will not change. Elementary price will be $2.25 for lunch and Middle School and High School lunch will be $2.40,” said Board Secretary Tami Degen.

    Read Full Story…

    Pedestrian crossing resolution OK’d

    By Steve Peterson

    Hawarden councilors met in regular session Aug. 10 and voted unanimously to approve a resolution for a pedestrian crossing at Iowa Highway 10 and Avenue H.

    This is required by Iowa Department of Transportation.

    Revenue Refunding Loan

    In addition, councilors voted unanimously to approve a public hearing for 5:30 p.m., Aug. 24 to enter into an electric revenue refunding loan agreement and to

    Read Full Story…