Rev. Collison truly enjoys avocation of announcing

Posted March 25, 2015 at 5:00 am

By Steve Peterson

The Very Rev. Craig Collison was presented with a Bernie Saggau Award, named after a retired state administrator, at the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s Boys’ Basketball Tournament, March 14 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Collison was presented the honor during the halftime of the Class 3A tournament final between Wahlert Catholic of Dubuque and Le Mars. The game was won by Wahlert, 46-39.

“It started in 1986 when the IHSAA asked if I would be interested,” said Collison of his public address work at the state boys’ basketball tournament. “At that time, I was an administrator at Gehlen Catholic High School and pastor at St. Joseph in Struble.”

Read Full Story…


    Celebrate 40 years

    Curt and Carla Winquist, rural Akron, SD, will celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary 2 – 4 p.m., Sunday, March 29 at Big Springs Baptist Church, rural Alcester, SD. There will be a program starting at 3 p.m. Curt Winquist and Carla Hansen were married March 29, 1975, at Wesley United Methodist Church in Akron. Carla is a 1972 graduate and Curt is a 1970 graduate of Akron Community School.The couple has three children and five grandchildren: Craig Winquist and wife, Kari, of Canton, SD, and children

    Read Full Story…

    Akron EMS director resigns

    By Julie Ann Madden

    Akron councilors accepted the resignation of Akron EMS Director Shelly Stockstad-Erickson at their March 10 meeting.

    She had been the town’s ambulance service director since July 1, 2014.

    Councilor Gerry Stowers made the motion to accept her resignation, effective immediately, and to have City Clerk Melea Nielsen pay Stockstad-Erickson her accrued salary but not the Paid-Time-Off (PTO) she requested.

    Councilor Barbara Johnson

    Read Full Story…

    j Akron library new computers.tif

    Akron library receives laptop computers

    Whether you need to fill out a job application online or finish an online college test, the Akron Public Library has four new computers to help you. These computers were purchased with grant money received through the Community Foundation of Greater Plymouth County. The laptops include software which erases what you have done so it is safe to pay bills, check bank balances, or file income taxes using the library’s internet services. The Social Security Administration has asked libraries to provide free access

    Read Full Story…

    j Wall Drug plaque photo - Audrey Kjose.tif

    Look what readers found!

    According to Kelsey Huether of Wall Drug Store Inc., the plaques hang in the Wall Drug Backyard, which was built in the late 1990s. She didn’t know how the newspaper and magazine clippings were chosen and she didn’t believe any new clippings had been added since the wall was built.

    The news story reads “Welcome to the Black Hills in Union county, South Dakota!! And, only 291 miles to Wall Drug,” according

    Read Full Story…

    Bockelman, Betty.psd

    Betty Bockelman

    of Hawarden will turn

    85 years young

    on March 24.

    Join us in wishing Betty a Happy Birthday!

    Birthday Greetings may be sent to: 908 Ave O – Hawarden, Iowa 51023

    FFA banquet is March 21

    The Akron-Westfield FFA Chapter will be hosting their annual banquet Saturday, March 21 in the Akron-Westfield High School The Commons and auditorium.

    The festivities will start with an Ag Quiz Bowl at 3:30 p.m., supper at 5:00 p.m., and the ceremonies at 6:00 p.m.

    The A-W FFA Chapter hopes to see community members in attendance to participate in the fun, as well as the silent auction that will be taking place throughout the evening. 

    Carol Hutton.psd

    Celebrating 80 years

    Carol Hutton will be celebrating her 80th birthday on March 14. Carol was born in Early, Iowa. Her children are Doug (deceased) and his wife Karen of West Des Moines, Iowa; Connie (Dave DeBoom) of Craig, Iowa; Christi of Raytown, Mo.; and Mike (Lane) Hutton of Craig, Iowa. She has 11 grandchildren and 13 great-grandchildren. She resides in Craig, Iowa.

    An Open House will be held for Carol on March 14, from 2:00 to 6:00 p.m. at the Craig

    Read Full Story…

    j Akron library Tami Small photography.tif

    ‘Photographic Art’ is March’s Akron Library display

    For years my photography was all about documenting for scrapbooks and photo albums,” said Photographer Tami Small, of Akron, whose work is on display at the Akron Public Library this month. “But, when that time of life was over, I sort of put my camera away for a few years.”

    “Recently, maybe five or six years ago I began shooting again but this time it was taking photos that almost seemed like I was seeing

    Read Full Story…

    Bennet Ruhland.psd

    Bennett Lawrence Ruhland

    Joe and Kayla Ruhland of Hinton, Iowa are proud to announce the arrival of their new son, Bennett Lawrence Ruhland. Bennett was born January 2, 2015 at 4:46 p.m. in Sioux City, Iowa. He weighed 8 pounds, 5 ounces and was 19 1/2 inches long.

    Bennett’s grandparents are Jerry and Wendi Ruhland from Akron, and Rick and Patty Hansen from Hinton. Great-grandparents are Mary Ruhland from Hawarden, and Wayne and Natalie Sheveland from Akron.