Carlin wins Senate seat

Posted December 20, 2017 at 6:00 am

By Julie Ann Madden

In a special election on Dec. 12, a Republican will fulfill the Iowa Senate vacancy created by the resignation of Republican Senator Bill Anderson.

Republican Iowa Rep. Jim Carlin, of Sioux City, received the seat with 1,724 votes, or 62 percent of the votes cast. He defeated Democrat Todd Wendt, of Le Mars, who received 1,065 votes in State Senate District No. 3.

There were three write-in votes cast. In the Akron-Westfield Precinct No. 1, candidate Alex Pick who lost to Carlin in the Republican Party vote had one vote. In Remsen Precinct 5, Alex Wimmer received one vote.

Finally, in Le Mars Precinct No. 11, a voter cast a phrase “Taxation is ———-,” said Plymouth County Deputy Auditor Cheri Nitzschke, explaining the last word is undecipherable. The word could be libertarian or liberation but it is not readable.

In the Akron-Westfield Precinct No. 1, Carlin received 137 votes while Wendt, received 87.

Now, there will be a special election to fulfill Carlin’s vacancy in the Iowa House of Representatives District No. 6, which does not include Plymouth County.

Both Carlin’s representative seat and Anderson’s senate seat expire in 2018 — the seats will be on the November 2018 ballot.

According to Iowa Secretary of State Communications Director Kevin Hall, Carlin has until Dec. 28 to resign his Representative seat. Once his resignation is received, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has five days to set a special election to fill the seat. Since the state legislature will be in session next month, she only has to give a minimum of 18 days notice to the district’s voters instead of the normal 40-day notice.

Comments are closed.