A-W grapplers fall twice in home meet

Posted January 4, 2013 at 4:17 pm

by Steve Peterson

Central Lyon-George-Little Rock (CLGLR) downed Akron-Westfield, 40-28 at the A-W Quadrangular wrestling meet.

A-W had an 0-2 record for the meet as it also lost to West Lyon, 40-40 on Dec. 18.

CLGLR 40, A-W 28:

A-W’s Tommy Toben lost a major decision to Colby McIntire, 15-2, at 126 pounds in the first match of the dual.

Tyler Waterbury of A-W pinned Hunter Huisman in 1:13 at 132 pounds.

Daniel Dirks of the Westerners beat Bodie Osborn by pin in 0:47 at 138 pounds.

Brent Klingenberg of CLGLR beat Jacob Bergman by pin in 2:49 at 152 pounds.

Ben Friedrichsen of CLGLR beat Zach Bosse of A-W by pin in 5:12 at 160 pounds.

Alex Waagmeester of CLGLR won by forfeit at 170 pounds.

Taylor James of A-W won by forfeit at 182 pounds.

Chet Willer of A-W won by pin over Andrew McCarty in 0:42 at 195 pounds.

Ben Starr of CLGLR pinned Trevor Hansen in 0:26 at 220 pounds. Nolan Geerdes at 285 and Treyton Virtue at 106 pounds, both won by forfeit over A-W.

West Lyon (WL) topped A-W, 42-34.

Cody Severson of WL won by forfeit at 113 pounds.

A-W’s Toben won by forfeit at 120 pounds.

Chris Kollis of WL won by pin over Waterbury in 5:31.

Dirks of A-W won by pin over Jacob Standley in 0:32.

Oltmanns won by major decision over Taeric Ezzell of WL, 9-1, at 145 pounds.

Bergman won by pin over Boe Sappingfield in 0:41 at 152 pounds.

Jed Van’t Hof of WL beat Bosse by pin in 2:38 at 160 pounds.

Derek Dubbeldee of WL won by forfeit at 170 pounds.

James beat Benjamin Kramer of WL by pin in 1:02 at 182 pounds.

Willer won by pin over Jordan Schemmel of WL in 2:49.

Beau Kellenberger of WL pinned Hansen in 3:55 at 220 pounds.

Dustin Brown at 285 pounds and Brett Van Beek at 106 pounds took forfeit wins for West Lyon’s Wildcats for the win.

Upcoming Meets

A-W travels to Marcus to battle Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn and Sioux Center on Jan. 3. A-W is at the Alta-Aurelia meet in Alta on Jan. 5. The Westerners are again on the road with a battle at Hartley against Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, Sergeant Bluff-Luton and Westwood on Jan. 8. and at the West Sioux junior varsity tournament on Jan. 7.

Comments are closed.