Commissioners ‘reorganize’ for 2013

Posted February 13, 2013 at 5:22 pm

By Julie Ann Madden

j UC Commissioners 01-08-2013.tif

Serving as Union County Commissioners for 2013 are (l-r:) Ross Jordan, District No. 1; Doyle Karpen, District No. 2; Dale Neely, District No. 3; Marvin Schempp, District No. 4; and Milton Ustad, District No. 5.

At the beginning of each fiscal year, governmental boards must hold an “organizational” meeting.

At their Jan. 8 meeting, the Union County Commission did just that.

The commissioners are Ross Jordan, District No. 1; Doyle Karpen, District No. 2; Dale Neely, District No. 3; Marvin Schempp, District No. 4; and Milton Ustad, District No. 5.

They began by electing a chairman and vice-chairman of the commission. Current Chairman Karpen and Vice-Chairman Ustad were unanimously reelected to the positions.

In addition, they kept much the same, including county polling places, commission meeting dates, legal newspapers for publishing notices, monetary depositories, coroner’s fee of $58 per viewing of bodies plus mileage, nurses’ blood draws at $45 per draw; and election board wages: election precinct workers, $150 per day with an additional $25 for the acting superintendent, and $25 for attending election school.

For the first time, commissioners approved allowing people to choose cremation or burial for indigent relatives who resided within the county. The county will pay up to a maximum of $2,000 for either type of burial with a memorial service.

2013 Appointments

Most appointments were kept the same with the exception of the Union County Fair Board, Planning & Zoning Board, and Union County Weed Board, which had vacancies as of Dec. 31.

Weed Board: Commissioners Ustad and Neely, incumbents Don Gray of Elk Point and Randy Ronning of Alcester; and new appointees: Eugene Flynn of North Sioux City, Jeff Horner of Dakota Dunes, and Richard Green of Alcester.

Planning & Zoning: new appointee David Reiff of Jefferson, 4-year term. He joins Bob James of Alcester; Dan Fullenkamp of Elk Point; Jim Brewster of Dakota Dunes; and Commission representative is Neely and Karpen is the alternate commission representative.

Fair Board: Commissioner representatives Schempp and Ustad; City of Alcester representative Mark Dykstra, Alcester Chamber of Commerce representative Margaret Gillespie; incumbents: Bruce Ericson and Paulette Vanderham of Akron; Keith Anderson, Chris Hongslo, Janelle O’Connor, Dan Wiberg and Josh Winquist, all of Alcester; Deb Boone, Angela Peirce and Trisha Rasmussen, all of Elk Point. New appointee was Marcy Stene of Alcester.

Public Works Administrator: Raymond Roggow;

County Investment Officer: Treasurer Myron Hertel;

Commissioner representatives to South Eastern Council Of Governments (SECOG): Schempp, Jordan and Ustad;

Extension Service Commissioner Representatives: Karpen and Ustad;

American Disabilities Act coordinators: Karpen, Neely and Planning Director Dennis Henze;

South Dakota Housing Authority Commissioner representatives: Ustad and Schempp;

Juvenile Detention Authority: Jordan and Ustad;

LEPC commissioner representatives: Karpen and Jordan;

Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) commissioner representatives: Jordan and Karpen; and

Union County Regional Railroad Authority representatives: Ustad and Neely.

Employee Sick Leave Bank Committee: Schempp, Tracy Smith of sheriff’s office; Cristy Harkness of public works department; and Scott Sexton of courthouse.

Comments are closed.