A-W students advance to state National History Day

Posted March 21, 2013 at 5:00 am

Congratulations to the Akron-Westfield National History Day team who represented Akron-Westfield well March 14 at regional competition at the Northwest Area Education Agency in Sioux City.


Taylor Heeren and Chase Stowe presented their exhibit on Forensic DNA.

Kammi Bishop and Damien Ericson presented an exhibit on Wounded Knee.

Marlene Zamora, Autumn Stowe, and Natasha Peinke presented on Carrie Chapman Catt.

Austin Allard demonstrated his Individual Website on the Pro-Negro League.

Advance to State

The following students have been selected to present at the Iowa History Day competition May 6.

Makayla Swancutt – Individual Performance on the Battle of Antietam;

Laken Mullinix – Individual Performance on Edna Griffin-Civil Rights in Iowa;

Cameron Wahlberg, Daniel Martinsen, Skyler Briggs, and Charlie Andersen – Theodore Roosevelt and Trustbusting;

Jordan Neubrand, Brynn Van Eldik, Kiana Appley, Max Anderson and Cody Hillrichs – Deadly Glow-Radium;

Nick Schnell, Michael Ford, Eric Cottrell – Sputnik 1;

Quentin Hoffer, Christian Wolthuizen – Works Progress Administration;

Brady Bergman, Courtney Waterbury – Samuel Colt;

Emmy Knuth, Danika Smith, Rose Witt – Chernobyl Disaster;

Dominic Trobaugh, Nash Lininger – The Jazz Age; and

Megan Swancutt, Kailee Tucker – Women’s Airforce Service Pilots.

Comments are closed.