Local Cub Scouts hold Pinewood Derby

Posted March 21, 2013 at 5:00 am

The 2013 Pinewood Derby was held at 3 p.m., March 17 at the American Legion Post No. 186 Hall in Akron.

j Pinewood Derby winners Raiden Ericson 3rd Michael Swancutt 1st Hayden McMahon 2nd .tif

Winners of the 2013 cub Scout Troop No. 182 in Akron are (l-r:) Raiden Ericson, third place; Michael Swancutt, first place; and Hayden McMahon, second place.

Scoutmaster Lance Vosberg began with a presentation from War Eagle Conference concerning Summer Camp opportunities.

Fifteen boys presented cars for the race consisting of seven Tigers, two Wolves, three Bears, and three Webelos.

Placement for the Tigers was Michael Swancutt, first place; Raiden Ericson, second place; Brody Pearson, third; Luke Meinen, fourth; Ashton McCully, fifth; Jack Terpstra, sixth; and Connor Jurgensen, seventh.

Wolves winners were Cael Moffatt, first place; and Ashton Eden, second.

Bears finished with Hayden McMahon, first; Jordon Rabey, second; and Landon Vosberg, third.

Webelos winners were Cameron Moore, first; Bryce Jurgensen, second; and Kyle Welch, third.

Winner of Best Designed Car was Hayden McMahon, and winner of Most Original Car was Michael Swancutt.

The fastest cars for the whole event were Michael Swancutt, first place; Hayden McMahon, second; Raiden Ericson, third; Ashton Eden, fourth; Jordon Rabey, fifth; Cameron Moore, sixth; Cael Moffatt, seventh; and Bryce Jurgensen, eighth.

Adult helpers for the race were Stan Rolfes, Race Master, Dan Rolfes, staging area, Bill Michael and Bob Watson, Check-in area and race charts, Gene Waag and Dave Compton, finish line/timers, and Warren Thompson, judge's table.

It was a great afternoon of parents and grandparents coming to see the boys compete for ribbons, medals, and trophies.

Comments are closed.