NICC incumbents file papers for Sept. 10 ballot

Posted August 14, 2013 at 9:44 pm

All four incumbent directors of Northwest Iowa Community College (NICC) of Sheldon filed papers to be on the ballot for the Sept. 10 school election.

They are for District No. 1, Cynthia Porter of Hawarden, whose district represents West Sioux Community School District’s Hawarden portion, precincts Plymouth No. 1 and Sioux Nos. 4 and 8 and a portion of Sioux Center school district that lies in the following precincts, Sioux Nos. 8, 9, 14, 15 and 16.

At NICC’s District No. 4, Steve Loschman of Calumet, representing the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn and South O’Brien of Paullina school districts and the Alton-Granville portion of the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District; District No. 7, Larry Hoekstra of rural Hull, representing the Boyden-Hull Community School District and portions of the Rock Valley and MOC-Floyd Valley School District.

Incumbents are seeking four-year terms. The term to fill a vacancy will last until 2015.

A director who was appointed to fill a vacancy, Adam Besaw of Sheldon, for District No. 5, is also on the ballot. That district covers George-Little Rock Community School District and Sheldon Community School District.

Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Tax levy on ballot

NICC also has a public measure for a tax levy continuation on the ballot.

“Shall the Board of Directors of NICC, Merged Area No. IV, in the counties of Cherokee, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Sioux, Clay, Dickinson and Plymouth, State of Iowa, cause to continue to be levied a tax not to exceed 21 and one-fourths cents per $1,000 of assessed value in any one year for an additional period of 10 consecutive fiscal years beginning with the 2016 tax levy payable in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2017,” according to ballot language. “For any one of the following purposes for the purchase of grounds; construction of buildings; payment of debts contracted for the construction of buildings; purchase of buildings and equipment for buildings; and the acquisition of libraries; for the purpose of paying utilities; and for the purpose of maintaining, remodeling, improving, or expanding NICC, Merged Area No. IV, of the merged area; or for such other purposes as authorized by law.”

New voting equipment

Sioux County Board of Supervisors has approved new equipment to be used for this year’s election.

“The new equipment has been delivered and certified and we will have training for our election judges. We bought 19 of the OVO, Open Elect Voting Interface OVIs (handicapped accessible) Open Elect Voting Optical, from Hendry Adkins of Missouri,” said Elections Administrator Lisa Rowenhorst.

The total cost for the equipment was $137,388. Rowenhorst said the Adkins model was chosen for a trade-in value of $32,277 a maintenance credit of $9,650 for a total of $41,927. The last equipment was bought in 2006 and lasted four elections cycles.

NICC redistricted

New districts for NICC have been established for a 10-year period. Impacting Hawarden is Porter’s District No. 1. The Ireton area is served by District No. 6, precinct Sioux 13 of Sioux Center North school district and West Sioux School that lies in Sioux Precinct No. 9.

Comments are closed.