Both Akron, Westfield have more candidates than seats open

Posted September 26, 2013 at 5:00 am

By Julie Ann Madden

Every vote will count in the Nov. 5 city election in both Akron and Westfield.

Each municipality has actual races to fill its council seats. In addition, Westfield also has two mayoral candidates.

Akron Council

There are two seats open on the Akron City Council.

The seats of incumbents Chad Ericson and Sharon Frerichs are on the Nov. 5 ballot.

Ericson is not seeking reelection and Frerichs debated until close to the Sept. 19 nomination paperwork filing deadline.

Joining Frerichs on the ballot is Tony Tripp and David Irizarry.

Westfield Council

There are three seats open on the Westfield Council. Currently, they are held by Don Dion, Tami Hummel and Jenny Hartman-Mendoza.

Hummel is not seeking reelection while incumbents Dion and Hartman-Mendoza are.

Also seeking council seats are Chad Carlson and James Feauto.

Incumbent Mayor Bill Hummel is seeking another term. He is being challenged by former Councilor Kelvin Solomon.

Casting Ballots

Akron and Westfield voters can go to their respective polling places, Akron Public Library and Westfield Community Center, from Noon to 8 p.m. on Nov. 5.

Voters can also request and cast absentee ballots as soon as the ballots are ready, according to Plymouth County Auditor’s Office Deputy Clerk Cheri Nitzschke, explaining they were not available as of Monday. The last day to mail an absentee ballot to the Plymouth County Auditor’s Office is Friday, Nov. 1.

Comments are closed.