Incumbents keep seats in Akron, Westfield

Posted November 14, 2013 at 6:00 am

By Julie Ann Madden

Editor’s Note: The vote counts listed on Facebook didn’t include absentee votes; however, the winners remained the same after these votes were added in. The totals below reflect both poll site votes and absentee votes cast.

The Plymouth County unofficial election results are in.

Akron City Council

The top vote-getter was incumbent Councilor Sharon Frerichs, who received 179 votes.

Two were seeking the second seat which was open as Councilor Chad Ericson didn’t seek reelection.

The winner was David Irizarry with 126 votes. Tony Tripp received 93 votes; and Crystal Manley received one write-in vote.

Akron Care Center

For the Akron Care Center Board of Trustees three seats, the results were Margaret Correia, 187 votes; Karen Schroeder, 187; and Crystal Manley, 108 write-in votes.

The following also received one write-in vote each: Brad Britton; Ron Schroeder; Deb Lewison; and Barbara Johnson.

Westfield Council/Mayor

Westfield incumbent Mayor Bill Hummel kept his seat with 24 votes in this election. Challenger Kelvin Solomon received 16 votes.

Westfield Incumbent Councilor Jenny Hartman-Mendoza was the top council vote-getter with 34 votes. Newcomer James Feauto, received 31 votes and incumbent Councilor Don Dion had 23 votes. These three will be sworn in January 2014.

Also on the Westfield Council ballot was Chad Carlson who received 21 votes.

There were also several write-in votes cast for a council seat. Tami Hummel, received five write-in votes; and Mike Bohlke had one write-in vote.

Ballots Cast

There were 210 Akron voters who cast ballots in Akron.

In Westfield, there were 40 ballots cast.

Canvassing of Votes

The official vote counts were to be announced after Plymouth County Supervisors canvassed the votes yesterday (Nov. 12).

Comments are closed.