A-W Educational Excellence Foundation enhances quality education at A-W

Posted November 28, 2013 at 6:00 am

The Akron-Westfield Educational Excellence Foundation (AWEEF) was established in 1995 to obtain financial resources to enhance education opportunities for Akron-Westfield students.

The Foundation was originally begun with a memorial donation from the Paul Elliott family in memory of Beth Elliott. The family received several memorial donations at the time of her death which the family wanted to give back to the community. Mrs. Elliott was a second grade teacher and the family felt this was an appropriate way to honor her memory.

This memorial was the seed dollars that got the Akron-Westfield Educational Excellence Foundation going.

Funds to the Foundation can come through scholarships, memorials, memberships, endowments, etc.

The AWEEF has several goals which include:

• Identify and secure funding for educational opportunities beyond the scope of the existing programs and Akron-Westfield’s funding resources;

• Recognize excellence and outstanding contributions to educational programs of the Akron-Westfield Community School;

• Increase involvement from a wide variety of community sectors in the educational program of the Akron-Westfield Community School.

The present AWEEF board is Bruce Michalsky, president; Barb Johnson, vice-president; Pam Von Hagel, secretary; Connie Blake, treasurer; and board members Eldon Heeren, Jim Henrich, Greg Heeren, Tim Blum, Dodie Hook, Bev Donily, Derek Briggs, Randy Kroksh, Mike Baker, and Lisa Harris.

Lifetime Charter Membership is $100. Other levels include Bronze: less than $100; Silver: $100 – $250; and Gold: Over $250.

This Foundation is a tax exempt method of contributing that can benefit the school system and its quality of education over and above the regular district budget.

Each year at A-W Awards Day, the Foundation gives scholarships to graduating seniors. In 2013 the Foundation was able to award four $400 scholarships to Kyle Schroeder, Robyn Peinke, Haley Coyle, and Carla Robinson. Next year the Foundation hopes to give a larger scholarship.

The Foundation also gives the Clifford Perry Technical College Scholarship through proceeds received from the Perry Estate which are to be used for a student who plans to attend a two-year technical college. The 2013 recipient of this $1,000 (given over two years) was Kristen Foley.

The Foundation will be holding its main scholarship fundraiser 5:00 – 7:00 p.m., Friday, Dec. 6 in A-W’s The Commons prior to the home basketball game against Hinton. They will be serving tavern or hot dog, potato salad or chips, beans, beverage, and homemade bars. Advance tickets may be purchased from any board member, A-W National Honor Society members or A-W Student Council members. Some tickets will be available at the door.

Everyone is invited to come support this important cause.

Charter members since 1995


Chace Anderson

Gordon Boden

Carol Brown

Susan Brown

Donald Campbell

Jean Carlson

Judith Chamberlain

Renita (Willms) Charrlin

Connie Clark

Bill Enockson

Floyd & Nancy Enstrom

Donna Frerichs

Arvin & Dorothy Finzen

Darcy & Joy Fletcher,

Donald Gant,

Jeff Gebauer

Darrell Gerritts

Skip Harris

June Heeren

Jim Henrich

Charlene Hodnefield

Dodie Elliott (Hook)

Theresa Horton

Donald Huygens

Barb Johnson

Florence Knapp

Deb Knudsen

Gene Knudsen

Frances Kramper

John & Mary Lucken

Bruce Michalsky

Sandra Miller (Hall)

Maybelle (Burrill) Moore

June Mueller

Hyla Olson

Jean Pendergast

Joyce Port

Richard Root

Stefan & Kay Sandberg

Ron Schroeder

Marianne Siefer

Claudia Small

Ernest Swenson

Harriet Tucker

Robert Tucker

Charles Wetzeler

Elsie Larson Wetzeler

Larry Williams

Meriele Wilmot.


The Akron Hometowner

City of Akron

First National Bank

(Security National Bank)

Bauerly, Hemmingsen, & Trotzig

(Bauerly & Trotzig),

Investment Planners of S.D. (in memory of Megan Dirks)


Akron Lion’s Club

Friendship & Service Club

Akron-Westfield Education Association

PEO-Chapter JC, The Next Generation Club.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Anyone wishing to donate or become a member, contact any board member or send to Pam Von Hagel, PO Box 552, Akron, IA 51001 or call Bruce Michalsky, 712-568-3259.

Comments are closed.