WS softball squad gets 13 hits in win over HLP

Posted July 7, 2014 at 9:33 pm

West Sioux’s softball team made it two wins in three games with a 9-0 victory over Harris-Lake Park in a War Eagle Conference clash July 2 as part of a doubleheader in Ireton.

The Lady Falcons took a 7-0 lead after two innings and never looked back. WS was 5-19 overall after the win.

The Lady Falcons collected 13 hits and had two walks and seven stolen bases. They got production from nearly every spot in the batting order.

Eighth grader Katey Koopmans had a 4-for-4 night with three runs scored, two stolen bases, and one RBI.

Multiple hits were from junior Rylee Negaard, 2-for-3 with two runs scored, two home runs and four RBIs and one walk.

Eighth grader Josie McKee had 2-for-4 with one run scored, one double and two RBIs. Eighth grader Abie Ericson was 2-for-3 with one RBI and one stolen base.

Junior Jenna Rehder was 1-for-2 with one run scored and one stolen base.

Sophomore Dana Schipper was 1-for-4 with one run scored.

Sophomore Amanda Mace was 1-for-4 with two stolen bases.

Sophomore Jordan Steckelberg scored one run.

Junior Calena Topete had one RBI.

Sophomore Allyson Westra had one walk.

Senior Carly Dekkers, the squad’s lone senior, was the winning pitcher as she threw a four-hit complete game effort. She had one strikeout. She had her final home regular season contest July 3 against Orange City Unity Christian.

HLP 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0

WS 5-2-0-2-0-0-0-9

Harris-Lake Park 8,WS 2

The visitors gained a split with an 8-2 win over the Lady Falcons last Wednesday.

West Sioux had six hits and one walk. Mace and Rehder had two hits and Rehder had two RBIs. Ericson had the walk.

Samantha Salker pitched four innings and allowed eight hits, one walk and struck out two. Dekkers pitched two innings and allowed four hits.

WS 0-0-0-0-2-0-0-2

HLP 0-0-2-1-4-0-0-8


West Sioux hosted Clay-Central Everly in the first round of the Class 1A playoffs July 7. The winner drew Akron-Westfield in Akron July 9 for the right to play in Akron at 7 p.m., Friday, July 11.

Comments are closed.